General News

Headwaters hospital honours three individuals, one group at AGM

June 27, 2019   ·   0 Comments


Headwaters Health Care Centre (HHCC) honoured three individuals and one community team at its Annual General Meeting last Tuesday (June 18) for their incredible service and commitment to our local hospital.

In what was its milestone 20th year, the annual Dr. David Scott Award was shared between Dr. Gordon Willans, who spent the majority of his career practicing at Dufferin-area hospitals, and Tom Reid, long-time chief of the Dufferin County Paramedic Services. 

Also on offer was the annual Chairperson’s Award, which was offered to Eileen Dahl, a volunteer patient family adviser at HHCC, and the Jennifer Widbur Memorial Hockey Tournament Organizing Committee, who, over the past 12 years, have managed to raise over $650,000 in support of cancer care at the local hospital. 

The Dr. David Scott Award recognizes individuals or groups who have gone above and beyond to improve the overall health and wellness of the Dufferin-Caledon community, and promote links between the hospital and community. The annual Headwaters Chairperson’s Award similarly honours those with ties to the hospital who help the facility in its attempts to provide quality care to local residents. 

Dr. Willans, Mr. Reid, Ms. Dahl and a team of representatives from the Jennifer Widbur tournament committee were on hand on Tuesday to formally accept their awards. 

Tom Reid – Dr. David Scott Award

Tom Reid is a lifelong resident of Shelburne who has devoted his entire 35-year career to paramedic services in the community. He is known as an exemplary leader, innovative thinker, compassionate professional and a driving force in shaping and supporting the paramedic profession in Ontario. 

Locally, he has led the development and implementation of Advanced Care Paramedic Program for Dufferin County, advancing paramedicine in the region through the implementation of electronic reporting, and bringing on the newest trends in the industry such as the use of power stretchers. Mr. Reis was also instrumental in the development of the Dufferin Situation Table, and in offering free CPR courses throughout Dufferin County.

Listed as one of Mr. Reid’s most impactful accomplishments is the development of a Community Paramedicine Program, which enables advanced training for paramedics to provide effective care to patients with complex care needs in their home. 

“Tom has been an integral leader in local health care in Dufferin County for many years. Tom’s vision of having better access for all through facilitation, integration and coordination of service delivery shows his understanding of not only the issues at hand, but also an appreciation of the hard work put in by all involved,” said outgoing HHCC Board Chair Louise Kindree. 

Dr. Gordon Willans – Dr. 

David Scott Award

Dr. Gordon Willans was instrumental in the bid to construct what is now Headwaters Health Care Centre in 1997. He worked as an internist for over four decades, providing care described by colleagues and patients as nothing short of exemplary. He was a trusted colleague of Dr. David Scott. His dedication to patients, community and health care in Ontario, a HHCC media release states, is truly significant.

“The Dr. David Scott Award was created to honour a man who cared passionately about his community, who served over a long career exemplified by the highest standards of practice and leadership,” Ms. Kindree stated. “One might think Dr. Gord Willans was a protégé of Dr. Scott, but theirs was a meeting of two men who shared a vision of their community, a passion and a commitment to give to that community and the skills and leadership to achieve that passion.”

Eileen Dahl – Annual 

Chairperson’s Award

Eileen Dahl is a registered psychotherapist and certified spiritual care professional, educator, speaker and independent resilience researcher. She has dedicated significant effort as the volunteer chair of the Central West Palliative Care Network Patient and Family Advisory Council, and as a volunteer patient family advisor to HHCC.

She also founded and moderates two Facebook groups that are empowering patients around the world with information and peer support connections. She has recently taken on a leadership role supporting the development of the Hills of Headwaters Ontario Health Team. 

“Eileen has a strong belief in educating people to be resilient and is not afraid to ask tough questions of herself and others,” Ms. Kindree said. “She is leading new ways to include the patient’s voice in how we think about, and deliver, local health care.”

Jennifer Widbur Memorial Hockey 

Tournament Organizing Committee – Annual Chairperson’s Award

The Jennifer Widbur Memorial Hockey Tournament Organizing Committee was made up of Al Widbur, Carey Widbur, Corrie Downey, Jana Prentice, Barb Elgie, Susan Haire, Crystal Lucas, Bonnie DeLaat, Mike DeLaat and Linda Widbur, the team has come together to host the hugely successful tournament, in memory of Jennifer Widbur, a young hockey mom who lost her battle with cancer in 2007, for the past 12 years.

The tournament has raised more than $650,000 in support of cancer care at HHCC, along with other cancer and hockey related organizations over the past decade. With support from the Shelburne and Honeywood communities, the annual three-day tournament for teams of women over 30 has proven to be a sitting tribute to Jennifer leading to improved health care services in the community.

Donations from the tournament have supported the expanded Oncology Program in the new Ambulatory Care Centre at HHCC, and helped purchase the hospital’s first digital mammography unit.



Readers Comments (0)

Sorry, comments are closed on this post.

Page Reader Press Enter to Read Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Pause or Restart Reading Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Stop Reading Page Content Out Loud Screen Reader Support
Page Reader Press Enter to Read Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Pause or Restart Reading Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Stop Reading Page Content Out Loud Screen Reader Support