Town wins Distinguished Budget Presentation Award

For the second consecutive year, the Government Finance Officers Association of the United States and Canada (GFOA) has announced that the Town of Caledon has received its Distinguished Budget Presentation Award for its 2013 budget. The announcement was made to Town council last week by Chief Financial Officer Ron Kaufman, who is also president of the Municipal Finance Officers Association.

The award represents a significant achievement by the Town. It reflects the commitment of council and staff to meeting the highest principles of governmental budgeting. In order to receive the award, the Town had to satisfy nationally recognized guidelines for effective budget presentation, which are designed to assess how well the budget does as a policy document, financial plan, operations guide and communications device. It must be rated ?proficient? in all four categories and the 14 mandatory criteria within those categories to receive the award.

Kaufman told council the budget document had to go through an independent review. He also stressed the award was the result of a team effort of the Corporate Services Department.

?Without the team, we don't win the award,? he commented.

?I am proud of all of our Town's accomplishments,? Mayor Marolyn Morrison commented, ?and I am pleased to see our Corporate Services Department being acknowledged once again for its commitment to meeting the highest principles of governmental budgeting.?



Caledon's Chief Financial Officer Ron Kaufman credited the work of the team in the Corporate Services Department for winning the Distinguished Budget Presentation Award for the second year in a row. The team members recently received congratulations from Mayor Marolyn Morrison and Town councillors. Seen here are Phillip Li; Barb Johnson; Lori Eagleson; Councillor Gord McClure; Elizabeth Lane; Fuwing Wong; Peggy Tollett; Councillor Rob Mezzapelli; Morrison; Councillor Richard Paterak; Kaufman; Hillary Bryers; Councillors Richard Whitehead, Patti Foley and Nick deBoer; Kevin Jackson: and Councillors Doug Beffort and Allan ThompsonPhoto by Bill Rea