Mayfield honours top athletes for the school year

By Bill Rea

There were many feats of an athletic nature over the last academic year at Mayfield Secondary School, and it was a time to celebrate them last week.

The school hosted its annual Athletic Banquet, but that came after an assembly to recognize the achievements of many performers in the various sports at the school.

?This is a highlight,? Physical Education Head John Horton declared at the assembly. ?Tonight is about the young people before us.? He added it was about acknowledging the experiences and accomplishments over the year. He pointed out Mayfield achieves, ?year after year after year.?

He also praised his fellow teachers in the department. ?You are absolutely incredible,? he declared.

He also had compliments for the athletes themselves, ?some of the finest individuals in this building.?

Horton also had words for the athletes who are graduating.

?It's been a terrific four years having you in this school,? he said. ?You have made a wonderful contribution to our school. Make your best years yet to come.?

When it came time to present the major awards, Michael Straughan received the Spirit Award, Kaitlyn Walsh got the Merit Award, Hannah Portch was presented with the R.C. Honey Award, Katya Dondi was named Junior Girls' Athlete of the Year, John Milkovich was Junior Boys' Athlete of the year, Bryn Ferris was Senior Girls' Athlete of the year and James Cromack was Senior Boys' Athlete of the Year.



James Cromack was named Senior Boy's Athlete of the Year. The presentation was made by Principal James Kardash and Marcia Baker.



Principal James Kardash and Jon Forbes presented the plaque to Bryn Ferris, senior girls' athlete of the year.



Katya Dondi received recognition as Junior Girls' Athlete of the Year from former principal Kent Armstrong and Angus Doughty.



Dave Kurzinger presented John Milkovich with the award as Junior Boys' Athlete of the year.



The R.C. Honey Award goes annually to a person who is greatly involved in athletics, demonstrates good sportsmanship, has a strong commitment to academics and respects others. Nancy Gilliard and Christine Huet presented it to Hannah Portch.



Rachel Chan-Yaneff and Ashley Riddall made a special presentation to swimmer Tess Routliffe, who is expected to be a medal contender in the upcoming Paralympics.



Julia D'Amico and Christine Huet presented the Merit Award to Kaitlyn Walsh. Huet called her a very organized ?taskmaster.?



Patty Seravalle and John Horton made the presentation of the Spirit Award to Michael Straughan.