Iannicca re-elected chair of CVC Board

Mississauga Councillor Nando Iannicca was re-elected Chair of Credit Valley Conservation (CVC) at the inaugural 2016 board meeting Feb. 19.

Iannicca's re-election marks his second term as Chair and coincides with his 15th year of service on CVC's Board of Directors. The Board consists of 12 members represented by councillors from member municipalities within the Credit River watershed. I want to thank the board for their continued support and share my gratitude for all the work carried out by our dedicated staff at CVC, said Iannicca. The work we do is so important and it has been my pleasure to be part of an organization that plays such a meaningful role in our communities. I am proud of all that CVC has accomplished and our continued efforts to protect the environment.

Iannicca has served as Mississauga councillor for more than 27 years and is the longest serving member of the City and Peel Regional council. In addition to serving on the CVC Board of Directors and CVC Foundation Board, Iannicca has served on the Police Services Board, Mississauga Hospital Foundation, Enersource Hydro Board, Mississauga Symphony and Peel Non-Profit Housing during his career.

The CVC Board of Directors also re-elected Amaranth Mayor Don MacIver as Vice-Chair. MacIver represents the Township of Amaranth as well as the Town of Mono and the Township of East Garafraxa on the Board of Directors. MacIver's re-election marks his second year as Vice-Chair and his fifth year of service on the board.

CVC is accountable through its Board of Directors to the municipalities and residents in the Credit River watershed. The board approves and guides CVC programs, projects, policies and sets its budget.