Hills of Headwaters Tourism Association celebrates 20th anniversary

The Board of Directors of the Hills of Headwaters Tourism Association celebrated 20 years since the incorporation of the Association June 26.

Headwaters Country Tourism Association became a recognized legal entity, June 14, 1,994, with the explicit mandate of promoting tourism in the Town of Caledon, County of Dufferin and Town of Erin. In 2001, the Association embarked on a major rebranding exercise, and officially changed its name to the Hills of Headwaters Tourism Association. The change came as a result of feedback from focus groups who continually mentioned that they knew they had arrived in the area when they saw the rolling hills and valleys that depict the region.

While the organization has evolved over the years, the primary goal is still the same? to work on behalf of and in conjunction with partners and regional tourism operators to support tourism that is consistent with the region's rural heritage, respectful of its extraordinary natural environment and that promotes its spirit of community. The Association strongly advocates for regional collaboration in all undertakings, understanding that an integrated approach allows individual businesses, groups, committees, communities and municipalities to expand their reach and leverage their impact in the marketplace.

According to Board Chair, Ron Munro, ?our Board operates with the same spirit that I assume brought the original founders of the Association together 20 years ago ? helping to promote community, shared values and strong, vibrant local economies.? Tourism remains the world's fourth fastest growing industry, and in Ontario, it contributes \$23.6 billion to the provincial economy. It seems appropriate that the Hills of Headwaters Tourism Association celebrated their incorporation June 14th, since the anniversary falls during Tourism Week in Canada.

The current Board of Directors includes Ron Munro (Chair), Stacey Coupland (Vice-Chair), Lisa Johnson (Treasurer), Doug Beffort, John Brennan, Maria Britto, Elaine Capes, Sandra Dolson, Jo Fillery, Michele Harris, Harvey Kolodny, Nanci Malek, Ross Millar, Kelly Myles, Laura Ryan, John Telfer and Sigrid Wolm.

The association provides tourism services on behalf of the regional tourism industry and on behalf of municipal partners in Caledon, Dufferin, Erin, Mono and Shelburne. The association is the recognized destination marketing organization for the Headwaters region, and a proud partner with Central Counties Tourism (RTO6).



The board of directors of the Hills of Headwaters Tourism Association include (front row) Ross Millar, Michele Harris, Ron Munro (Chair), Meg Floyd, Doug Beffort, John Brennan, (back row) Elaine Capes, Lisa Johnson (Treasurer), Stacey Coupland (Vice-chair), Jo Fillery, Laura Ryan and Harvey Kolodny.