Caledon Public Library receives Angus Mowat Award Of Excellence

Caledon Public Library has received the 2016 Angus Mowat Award of Excellence.

The award was presented to the Library's CEO and Chief Librarian Colleen Lipp by Tourism, Culture and Sport Minister Eleanor McMahon, in front of an audience of librarians from all over Ontario. This took place in February at Ontario Library Association's annual conference in Toronto.

The award was given in recognition of Caledon Public Library's Click? Create? Celebrate initiative, an annual contest encouraging submissions of short stories, poetry, short films and photography from all age groups. It culminates in an event celebrating the talent and creativity of all participants and the unveiling of a published compilation of all winning entries.

?CPL recognizes the inherent value of building a culture of creativity and our Click?Create?Celebrate initiative offers the tools to create and cultivate, rather than simply consume the works of others,? Lipp commented. ?Click?Create?Celebrate provides a forum to recognize and highlight the talent of local authors, writers, photographers and filmmakers in our own community.?

Caledon Public Library would also like to acknowledge the financial support of Friends of Caledon Public Library who make this initiative possible. Click?Create?Celebrate 2017 is already underway. For all the details along with submission deadlines visit the library website at www.caledon.library.on.ca



Tourism, Culture and Sport Minister Eleanor McMahon was flanked by Caledon Public Library representatives Mary Maw, Colleen Lipp, Laurie Groe, Robert Simeon and Laura Nolloth at the recent presentation of Angus Mowat Award Of Excellence.